updated 10/16/2008 6:52:43 PM ET 2008-10-16T22:52:43

The Bush administration is poised to remove U.S. visa requirements for the citizens of seven allied countries.

Congressional officials said that Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Hungary, the Czech Republic, Slovakia and South Korea will be added to the U.S. visa waiver program as early as next month.

President Bush is expected to announce the change Friday.

The administration has sought to reward close allies with inclusion in the program.

Copyright 2008 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Discussion comments


Most active discussions

  1. votes comments
  2. votes comments
  3. votes comments
  4. votes comments