updated 10/28/2008 3:45:44 PM ET 2008-10-28T19:45:44

U.S. Homeland Security Secretary Michael Chertoff says seven countries are ready to begin visa-free travel to the U.S. on Nov. 17.

  1. Don't miss these Travel stories
    1. Lords of the gourd compete for Punkin Chunkin honors

      With teams using more than 100 unique apparatuses to launch globular projectiles a half-mile or more, the 27th annual World Championship Punkin Chunkin event is our pick as November’s Weird Festival of the Month.

    2. Airports, airlines work hard to return your lost items
    3. Expert: Tourist hordes threaten Sistine Chapel's art
    4. MGM Grand wants Las Vegas guests to Stay Well
    5. Report: Airlines collecting $36.1B in fees this year

Chertoff, on an official visit Tuesday in Budapest, says the long-awaited decision is akin to "sweeping away the last dust of the Iron Curtain."

U.S. President George W. Bush announced on Oct. 17 that Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, the Czech Republic, Slovakia and South Korea would be added to the U.S. visa waiver program.

All seven countries have had to meet several requirements to join the visa-waiver program such as issuing hard-to-forge passports and upgrading anti-terrorist laws.

Participants using the program will have to register online before traveling.

Copyright 2008 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Discussion comments


Most active discussions

  1. votes comments
  2. votes comments
  3. votes comments
  4. votes comments