updated 11/12/2010 2:39:24 PM ET 2010-11-12T19:39:24

A passenger plane flying from London to San Francisco has been diverted to Iceland after a passenger became sick on board.

United Airlines Flight 931 had to make an emergency landing at Keflavik International Airport, outside Iceland's capital, Reykjavik, on Friday at about 6 p.m. (1800 GMT, 1 p.m. EST). United said in a statement that the plane landed safely.

An airport spokesman said the unidentified sick passenger has been admitted to a hospital but his condition is unknown.

The plane took off at about 7 p.m. (1900 GMT, 2 p.m. EST) to resume its flight, said Hjordis Gudmunsdottir, a spokeswoman for the company that manages Keflavik airport.

United Airlines is a subsidiary of United Continental Holdings Inc.

Copyright 2010 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Discuss:

Discussion comments

,

Most active discussions

  1. votes comments
  2. votes comments
  3. votes comments
  4. votes comments