By
updated 6/28/2012 2:19:19 PM ET 2012-06-28T18:19:19

Do you hate your boss? Are you hungover at work? How about stoned? A combination of all three? If you've broadcast your embarrassing — and potentially job-impacting — status on Facebook, a new website knows, and shares your stupidity with the rest of the world.

Branded a "privacy experiment," the site is called " We Know What You're Doing," and it is broken into four sections, "Who wants to get fired?" "Who's hungover?" Who's taking drugs?" and "Who's got a new phone number?"

Under each header, the site's developer, an 18-year-old Brit named Callum Haywood, reposts gems like, "I hate my boss, he is such a tw*t," and "I hate my boss so mch [sic], his so arrogant bloody a**."

[New Website Fixes Your Facebook Privacy Settings]

If you're an employer, a quick glance at the "Who's hungover?" section gives you an easy list of people to fire, including Elliot S., who posted "You know your job is good when you turn up 2 hours late hungover and unchanged and all your boss says is have a good night?" Then there's Jonathan W., who posted, in vulgar language, that he is sick with hay fever and hungover at work.

The final section, "Who's got a new phone number?" includes a running list of people who have posted their phone number for everyone to see. Not the smartest move, especially when the more personal information someone has on you, the higher the risk of becoming a victim of identity theft. (Haywood did not repost phone numbers in full.)

Aside from publicly shaming people who post embarrassing status updates, We Know What You're Doing has a positive message, which can be seen by scrolling down to the bottom of the page, where an addendum to the website name reads, "…And we think you should stop."

The site urges people to "make sure your Facebook privacy settings are sufficient," and even praises Facebook for its privacy controls, putting the blame instead on the site's hundreds of millions of users and their lack of concern for their own privacy.

We Know What You're Doing instructs users to change their default privacy settings to "Custom," and to manually go through and change what information you want your friends to have access to.

This site should serve as a reminder that if you put something out into the social media world, it's gone, and you can't get it back. So next time you want to post a picture from the party that shows you in a less-than-favorable light — and one your boss might take issue with — think again.

© 2012 SecurityNewsDaily. All rights reserved

Discuss:

Discussion comments

,

Most active discussions

  1. votes comments
  2. votes comments
  3. votes comments
  4. votes comments