updated 2/15/2005 9:37:34 PM ET 2005-02-16T02:37:34

The nation's highest honor for science will be awarded to eight individuals next month, while technology awards will go to six people, a company and a foundation.

The National Medal of Science and National Medal of Technology will be awarded during ceremonies at the White House on March 14, the White House announced Monday.

The National Medal of Science winners are J. Michael Bishop, University of California, San Francisco; G. Brent Dalrymple, Oregon State University; Carl R. De Boor, University of Wisconsin, Madison; Riccardo Giacconi, Johns Hopkins University, R. Duncan Luce, University of California, Irvine; John M. Prausnitz, University of California, Berkeley; Solomon H. Snyder, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine; Charles Yanofsky, Stanford University.

The National Medal of Technology winners are Jan D. Achenbach, Northwestern University; Watts S. Humphrey, Software Engineering Institute, Pittsburgh; Robert M. Metcalfe, Polaris Venture Partners, Waltham, Mass.; team of Rodney D. Bagley, Irwin Lachman and Ronald M. Lewis, Corning Inc.; UOP LLC, Des Plaines, Ill.; Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation, Madison, Wis.

Copyright 2005 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Discussion comments


Most active discussions

  1. votes comments
  2. votes comments
  3. votes comments
  4. votes comments