updated 3/31/2005 8:15:24 AM ET 2005-03-31T13:15:24

Below are brief profiles of the panel appointed by President Bush to investigate weapons of mass destruction intelligence failures in Iraq:

  • Lawrence Hirsch Silberman, co-chairman. Senior circuit judge on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit. Served as undersecretary of labor, deputy attorney general and was appointed to the bench by President Reagan.
  • Charles Robb, co-chairman. Former Democratic senator and governor from Virginia.
  • Patricia McGowan Wald, former assistant attorney general. She served as a judge of the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia at the Hague, Netherlands. Served on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit, including five years as chief judge. She was appointed by President Carter in 1979.
  • Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz. In 2000, he sought the Republican presidential nomination.
  • Henry Rowen, senior fellow at the Hoover Institution. Rowen is a former assistant defense secretary for international security affairs. He was chairman of the National Intelligence Council.
  • Richard Levin, president of Yale University.
  • William Studeman, vice president and deputy general manager for intelligence and information superiority at Northrop Grumman Mission Systems. Studeman is a former deputy director of the CIA and former director of the National Security Agency.
  • Charles Vest, former president of MIT. Vest chaired the Energy Department Task Force on the Future of Science Programs.
  • Walter Slocombe, former undersecretary of defense for policy. During May-November 2003 he was senior adviser to the Coalition Provisional Authority in Baghdad for national security and defense.

© 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Discussion comments


Most active discussions

  1. votes comments
  2. votes comments
  3. votes comments
  4. votes comments