msnbc.com
updated 7/13/2005 2:00:45 PM ET 2005-07-13T18:00:45

Below are lists of authors and U.S. publishers who, according to Markets Initiative and Green Press Initiative, are taking on "forest friendly" stands.

Authors
These authors have committed to having their books published in a "forest friendly" fashion:

Isabelle Allende
Margaret Atwood
Pierre Berton
Austin Clarke
Helen Fielding
Timothy Findley
Barbara Gowdy
Paul Hawken
Julia Butterfly Hill
Barbara Kingsolver
Patrick Lane
Yan Martell
Alice Munro
Michael Ondaatje
Philip Pullman
Ian Rankin
Alice Walker
E.O. Wilson

U.S. publishers
The publishers below have agreed to eliminate their use of paper with fiber from endangered forests within five years:

Adventure Trail - Publishing www.AT7.us

Amber Lotus Publishing www.amberlotus.com

Ash Tree Publishing www.ashtreepublishing.com

Avalon Travel Publishing www.travelmatters.com

Ave Maria Press www.avemariapress.com

Baker Book House www.bakerbooks.com

Berkshire Publishing Group www.berkshirepublishing.com

Beyond Words Publishing www.beyondword.com

Blooming Rose Press www.bloomingrosepress.com

Blue Line Press www.blpress.com

Bluestone Quarry Press www.abebooks.com

Book Publishing Company www.bookpubco.com

Caliber Publications www.growinglifestyle.com

Chelsea Green Publishing www.chelseagreen.com

Chronicle Books www.chroniclebooks.com

Columbia University Press www.cc.columbia.edu/cu/cup

Continuum International Publishing www.continuum-books.com

Cornell University Press www.cornellpress.cornell.edu

Council Oak Books www.counciloakbooks.com

Crestport Press www.crestport.com

Dragonfly Media www.dragonflymedia.com

Ecotone Publishing www.ecotonedesign.com

Enjae Design and Marketing www.enjaedesign.com

Emergency Press www.emergencypress.org

Epicenter Press www.epicenterpress.com

Etham Books www.ethambooks.com

Ezra's Earth Publishing www.ezrasengine.com

Fairview Press www.fairviewpress.org

Free Spirit Publishing www.freespirit.com

Georgetown University Press www.press.georgetown.edu

Gibbs Smith Publisher www.gibbs-smith.com

Hampton Roads Publishing www.hamptonroads.com

Harpur Palate harpurpalate.binghamton.edu

Harvard University Press www.hup.harvard.edu

High Country News www.hcn.org

Inner Ocean Publishing www.innerocean.com

Island Press www.islandpress.org

Jewish Lights Publishing www.jewishlights.com

Knock Journal www.knockjournal.org

Krishnamurti Publications www.kfa.org

Labrys Books www.olympicodyssey.com

Lake Claremont Press www.lakeclaremont.com

Lantern Books www.lanternbooks.com

Lost Horse Press www.losthorsepress.org

Michigan State University Press msupress.msu.edu

Middleway Press www.middlewaypress.com

Milkweed Editions www.milkweed.org

Minnesota Historical Society Press www.mnhs.org/market/mhspress

New World Library www.newworldlibrary.com

Newmarket Press www.newmarketpress.com

Nova Publishing Company www.novapublishing.com

Nomad Press www.nomad-press.com

Pamoon Press www.pamoonpress.com

Parallax Press www.parallax.org

Pruett Publishing www.pruettpublishing.com

Raincoast Books www.raincoast.com

Red Hills Writers Project www.redhillswritersproject.org

Seven Stories Press www.sevenstories.com

Sierra Club Books www.sierraclub.org

Snow Lion Publications www.snowlionpub.com

Sorin Books www.sorinbooks.com

South End Press www.southendpress.org

Southern Ilinois University Press www.siu.edu/~siupresss

Steiner Books www.steinerbooks.org

Square One Publishing www.squareonepublishers.com

Ten Speed/Celestial Arts/Tricycle www.tenspeedpress.com

The Haworth Press www.haworthpressinc.com

Univ of North Carolina Press www.uncpress.unc.edu

University of California Press www.ucpress.edu

University of Georgia Press www.ugapress.uga.edu

University of Iowa www.uiowa.edu/~uipress

University of Minnesota Press www.upress.umm.edu

University of Misssouri Press www.system.missouri.edu/upress

University of Notre Dame Press www.nd.edu/~undpress

Weatherhill www.weatherhill.com

Wildcat Canyon Press www.wildcatcanyon.com

Wisdom Publications www.wisdompubs.org

Wolverine Farm Publishing www.matterjournal.com

World Resources Institute www.wri.org

World Tribune www.sgi-usa.org/publications/world_tribune

© 2013 msnbc.com Reprints

Discuss:

Discussion comments

,

Most active discussions

  1. votes comments
  2. votes comments
  3. votes comments
  4. votes comments