updated 8/18/2005 7:08:58 PM ET 2005-08-18T23:08:58

This year's Nobel Prizes will be worth the equivalent of $1.3 million each — a drop of $200,000 from last year because of currency fluctuations, the Nobel Foundation said Thursday.

Although the prize amount is the same in Swedish currency — 10 million kronor — it works out to less in dollars and euros because both currencies have risen against the krona.

The 2004 prizes were the equivalent of $1.5 million.

The first prize to be awarded this year will be in physiology or medicine on Oct. 3, with physics on Oct. 4 and chemistry on Oct. 5. The economics prize will be announced Oct. 10 and the peace prize Oct. 14.

In keeping with tradition, the date for the literature prize will be announced later.

All the prizes are awarded in Stockholm except for the peace prize, which is given in Oslo, Norway.

Copyright 2005 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Discussion comments


Most active discussions

  1. votes comments
  2. votes comments
  3. votes comments
  4. votes comments