Finally, LinkedIn users will be able to block exes, spammers and unwanted social climbers from messaging them and checking out their profile.
“We built this feature not only because it was a feature our members requested, but because we also knew it was the right thing to do,” wrote Paul Rockwell, head of “Trust and Safety” at LinkedIn.
Once you click “Block or report” on somebody’s profile, your connection will be severed, meaning you won’t be able to message or visit each other. Users are not notified when blocked.
It’s a feature that many social networks already offer — including Facebook, which was actually founded after LinkedIn. (They launched in 2004 and 2002, respectively).
Rockwell wrote that while it “may seem like a simple feature to develop,” there were “many different use cases to consider, products and features to integrate, as well as a user interface we had to create" before it could happen.
Regardless, it’s here now, which should be welcome news for people worried about stalkers looking at them online. There are a few less drastic measures people can use as well, including disconnecting users from their networks and making their own profiles less visible to the public.