They were on their way to catching them all -- but now some "Pokemon Go" players are reporting their progress has been reset to level one after a game update.
Some avid Pokemon trainers took to Twitter to complain their three weeks of Pokemon wrangling had been erased after they downloaded an update that was rolled out over the weekend.
Niantic, the maker of "Pokemon Go," did not immediately return NBC News' request for comment. However, the company wrote on a troubleshooting page that some iOS users had encountered a problem where it "appears that gameplay progress has been reset."
The company said it updated its Google account login system as part of the update and that players "may have inadvertently created another 'Pokemon Go' account by logging in with a different Google email address than the one originally used for the game.”
"Please be assured that your gameplay progress has NOT been lost. It remains safe and intact," the company wrote.
Niantic advised dejected Pokemon trainers who may have “inadvertently” created a new account to uninstall and reinstall the Pokemon Go game or to sign out of their account and log back in with the original email address they registered.
When logging back in via the Google method, Niantic advises users to make sure they’re using the original email address associated with their account. This can be verified by checking the top right corner of the Google permissions screen in Safari.
The fix apparently hasn't worked for everyone impacted by the glitch. Several Pokemon trainers reported on the company's Facebook page they were still stuck back at level one.