IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

Bush pardons 29, but not Scooter Libby

The president has pardoned 29 convicts and reduced the prison sentence of another in the annual end-of-the-year tradition.
/ Source: The Associated Press

The list includes carjackers, drug dealers, a moonshiner and even an election law violator.

In all, President Bush has pardoned 29 convicts and reduced the prison sentence of another in the annual end-of-the-year tradition.

But Bush did not pardon I. Lewis "Scooter" Libby, Vice President Cheney's former top aide who was convicted in the case of the leaked identity of a CIA agent. Bush has already commuted Libby's jail term in that case.

The Justice Department says Bush has granted 142 pardons and commuted five sentences since taking office in 2001 -- far behind the pace set by most modern presidents.

Since World War II, the largest number of pardons and commutations -- a little more than 2,000 -- came from President Harry Truman, who served 82 days short of eight years in office.

According to the Justice Department's Office of the Pardon Attorney, those pardoned and commuted are:


  • James Albert Bodendieck Sr., of New Athens, Ill., convicted in 1959 of interstate transportation of a stolen vehicle.
  • Jeffrey James Bruce, of Chandler, Okla., convicted in 1994 of possession of stolen mail.
  • Charles Wayne Bryant, of Sautee, Ga., convicted in 1962 of theft of United States mail matter by employee.
  • Carleton Gregory Carpenter, of Wayland, Mass., convicted in 1981 of making a false representation with respect to information required to be kept in the records of a person holding a federal firearms license.
  • John Edward Casto, of Ripley, W.Va., convicted in 1990 of distribution of cocaine.
  • Jackie Ray Clayborn, of Deer, Ark., convicted in 1993 of manufacturing marijuana.
  • Debbie Sue Conklin, formerly known as Debbie Sue McAlevy, of Douglas, Wyo., convicted in 1990 of conspiracy to distribute methamphetamine.
  • Charles Richard Fennell, of Valencia, Calif., convicted in 1995 of false statement to a federally insured financial institution.
  • John Fornaby, of Boynton Beach, Fla., convicted in 1991 of conspiracy to distribute cocaine.
  • Daniel Ray Freeman, of Douglas, Ga., convicted in 1963 of violation of Internal Revenue liquor laws.
  • Thomas Dee Gandy, of Wichita, Kan., convicted in 1996 of mail fraud affecting a financial institution.
  • Melton Harrell, of Cairo, Ga., convicted in 1976 of theft of government property and receiving stolen government property.
  • Paul Dwight Hawkins, of Lafayette, La., convicted in 1990 of conspiracy to import marijuana.h
  • Roger Paul Ingram, of Round Rock, Texas, convicted in 1987 of conspiracy to possess with intent to distribute an analogue of a Schedule I controlled substance, Ecstasy.
  • William Lucius Jones Jr., of Birmingham, Ala., convicted in 1972 of illegal possession of an unregistered firearm.
  • William Charles Jordan, Jr., of Dover, Pa., convicted in 2000 of managing and conducting an illegal gambling business.
  • Saul Kaplan, of Scranton, Pa., convicted in 1992 of violation of the Federal Election Campaign Act.
  • Billy Joe LaForce, of San Antonio, convicted in 1991 of conspiracy to possess marijuana with intent to distribute.
  • Rudolph J. Macejak, of Morton Grove, Ill., convicted in 1986 of possession of an unregistered firearm.
  • John F. McDermott, of Moretown, Vt., convicted in 1995 of receiving kickbacks in defense procurement contracts.
  • William James Norman, of Tallahassee, Fla., convicted in 1970 of possession of an unregistered distillery, carrying on the business of a distiller without giving the required bond, possession and custody of a still without the required sign outside the premises, working at a distillery without the required sign outside the premises and unlawfully producing distilled spirits from mash and similar material.
  • Glanus Terrell Osborne, of Dallas, Ga., convicted in 1990 of possession of a stolen motor vehicle.
  • John Gordon Smith, of Littleton, Colo., convicted in 1988 of false statement to a federal agency.
  • Walter J. Sweeney, III, of Cincinnati, Ohio, convicted in 1993 of attempting to evade income taxes.
  • Nancy Lynn Thompson, of Bainbridge, Ga., convicted in 1997 of embezzlement by a bank employee.
  • Daryl Toney, of Montgomery, Ala., convicted in 1993 of misdemeanor theft within the special maritime and territorial jurisdiction of the United States.
  • Charles Eddie Trobaugh, of Whitleyville, Tenn., convicted in 1965 of liquor law violations.
  • Samuel Lewis Whisel, of Boiling Springs, Pa., convicted in 1989 of aiding and abetting the interstate transportation of stolen goods.
  • Steven Wayne Whitlock, of Sarasota, Fla., convicted in 1990 of conspiracy to import marijuana.

Commuted sentence

  • Michael Dwayne Short, of Hyattsville, Md., convicted in 1992 of aiding and abetting the distribution of cocaine base.