IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

Winners of the Nobel economics prize

Recent winners of the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences, and their research, according to the Nobel Foundation:
/ Source: The Associated Press

Recent winners of the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences, and their research, according to the Nobel Foundation:


— 2010: Americans Peter Diamond and Dale Mortensen and Christopher Pissarides, a British and Cypriot citizen.

— 2009: Americans Elinor Ostrom and Oliver for their analysis of economic governance.

— 2008: American Paul Krugman for his analysis of trade patterns and location of economic activity.

— 2007: Americans Leonid Hurwicz, Eric S. Maskin and Roger B. Myerson for laying the foundations of mechanism design theory.

— 2006: American Edmund S. Phelps for furthering the understanding of the trade-offs between inflation and its effects on unemployment.

— 2005: Robert J. Aumann, of Israel and the United States, and American Thomas C. Schelling, for their work in game-theory analysis.

— 2004: Finn E. Kydland, Norway, and Edward C. Prescott, United States, for their contribution to dynamic macroeconomics.

— 2003: Robert F. Engle, United States, and Clive W.J. Granger, Britain, for their use of statistical methods for economic time series.

— 2002: Daniel Kahneman, United States and Israel, and Vernon L. Smith, United States, for pioneering the use of psychological and experimental economics in decision-making.

— 2001: George A. Akerlof, A. Michael Spence and Joseph E. Stiglitz, United States, for research into how the control of information affects markets.

— 2000: James J. Heckman and Daniel L. McFadden, United States, for their work in developing theories to help analyze labor data and how people make work and travel decisions.

— 1999: Robert A. Mundell, Canada, for innovative analysis of exchange rates that helped lay the intellectual groundwork for Europe's common currency.

— 1998: Amartya Sen, India, for contributions to welfare economics, which help explain the economic mechanisms underlying famines and poverty.

— 1997: Robert C. Merton and Myron S. Scholes, United States, for developing a formula for the valuation of stock options.

— 1996: James A. Mirrlees, Britain, and William Vickrey, United States, for contributions to the economic theory of incentives under asymmetric information.

— 1995: Robert E. Lucas Jr., United States, for having developed and applied the hypothesis of rational expectations.

— 1994: John C. Harsanyi and John F. Nash, United States, and Reinhard Selten, Germany, for their contribution to the theory of noncooperative games.

— 1993: Robert W. Fogel and Douglass C. North, United States, for applying economic theory and quantitative methods to explain economic and institutional changes.

— 1992: Gary S. Becker, United States, for extending microeconomic theory to a wide range of human behavior.

— 1991: Ronald Coase, Britain, for discovering and clarifying the significance of transaction costs and property rights for the functioning of the economy.

— 1990: Harry M. Markowitz, William F. Sharpe and Merton Miller, United States, for pioneering work in the theory of financial economics.

— 1989: Trygve Haavelmo, Norway, for clarification of the probability theory foundation of econometrics.

— 1988: Maurice Allais, France, for contributions to the theory of markets and the efficient use of resources.

— 1987: Robert M. Solow, United States, for contributions to the theory of economic growth.

— 1986: James M. Buchanan Jr., United States, for research in the theory of economic and political decision-making.

— 1985: Franco Modigliani, United States, for analyses of saving and of financial markets.

— 1984: Richard Stone, Britain, for contributions to the development of systems of national accounts.

— 1983: Gerard Debreu, United States, for the reformulation of the theory of general equilibrium.

— 1982: George J. Stigler, United States, for studies of industrial structures and the causes and effects of public regulation.

— 1981: James Tobin, United States, for the analysis of financial markets and their relation to expenditure, production, employment and prices.

— 1980: Lawrence R. Klein, United States, for the creation of certain econometric models.