A lawyer for Casey Anthony is expected to begin a legal battle against a judge's decision to order her to serve a year of supervised probation over a check fraud case, NBC News reported.
On Monday, Circuit Judge Stan Strickland signed amended court documents requiring Anthony to return to Orange County, Fla., within 72 hours.
Anthony was in jail awaiting trial for the murder of her daughter Caylee when she was sentenced last year in the check fraud case.
However, there was confusion over whether she was supposed to serve her probation while in jail or on her release from custody.
Strickland said at the time he had meant that Anthony — found not guilty of killing her daughter and released in July — should serve the probation order if and when she was freed.
The court documents were amended, then signed by Strickland Monday, to make this clear.
NBC's Kerry Sanders reported Tuesday on TODAY that Anthony's lawyers were preparing to mount a challenge.
According to Sanders, Anthony's attorney, Cheney Mason, will go to court Tuesday to file a motion to have Strickland disqualified from the case and the court order overturned.
The Orlando Sentinel reported Monday that Anthony's lawyers were expected to argue that she has already served the probation order while in jail.
Where will Anthony live?
If Anthony does return to Orange County, it's unclear where she would live.
According to Sanders, parolees must give an address or location so they can be supervised under Florida law.
The law also requires that the address be made part of the public record unless a special exception is made.
NBC-affiliate station WESH 2 reported that its legal analyst, Richard Hornsby, believed that if Anthony does serve probation, it will not be be very strict.
"It's not like she will have to wear a GPS monitor or have constant contact," the defense attorney said.
Anthony pleaded guilty in January 2010 to 13 counts in a check fraud case, NBC-affiliate station WESH.com reported.
She was sentenced to 412 days in Orange County Jail with credit for 412 days time served and was ordered to pay $5,517.75 in court costs, in addition to the year's probation.
NBC News obtained a copy of the amended documents, which explain that "the Defendant is to report to Probation upon release."
Under its terms, she must "make a full and truthful report to your [her] Probation Officer" not later than the fifth day of each month, pay the State of Florida at least $20 a month toward the cost of her supervision, not change her residence without consent and not carry any firearm or weapon without permission.