IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

Presidential Inauguration coverage plans

MSNBC announces extensive coverage of the 55th presidential inauguration, anchored by Chris Matthews.

MSNBC’s coverage of the 55th Presidential Inauguration begins Tuesday, January 18, with “Hardball” anchored by Chris Matthews live, 7-8 p.m. ET and again, 9-10 p.m. (ET) from Lafayette Park across from the White House. 

On Wednesday, MSNBC originates from its Inauguration Headquarters on the National Mall and will include live reports from correspondents Ron Reagan, Chris Jansing, Natalie Allen, Sean McLaughlin and David Shuster, and “Lester Holt Live” with Lester Holt anchoring live at Inauguration Headquarters 4-6 p.m.. Wednesday Primetime kicks off with a live edition of “Hardball with Chris Matthews,” 7-8 p.m. ET at Inauguration Headquarters, followed by “Countdown with Keith Olbermann” live from MSNBC World Headquarters, 8-9 p.m. ET.  At 9-10 p.m. (ET), MSNBC presents “Picking our Presidents: Leaders and Legacies” with Matthews and NBC News’ Tom Brokaw taking a special look at presidential inaugurals over the last forty years.  “Scarborough Country” telecasts 10-11 p.m. ET, also from MSNBC Inauguration Headquarters.

On Thursday, MSNBC Inauguration coverage begins at 6 a.m. ET with “Imus in the Morning live from Washington, D.C. Chris Matthews then anchors MSNBC’s all-day coverage from the President’s departure from the White House on to the prayer service at St. John’s Church at 9 a.m. ET, the swearing-in on Capitol Hill at noon, and through the Inaugural Parade. MSNBC will cover all the inaugural news and events of the day with NBC News and MSNBC reporters including Jeannie Ohm, Norah O’Donnell and David Gregory at the White House; Chris Jansing, Bob Kur and Andrea Mitchell at Lafayette Park; Amy Robach, David Shuster, Kelly O’Donnell, Chip Reid, John Seigenthaler, Andrea Mitchell and Campbell Brown at Capitol Hill; Lester Holt, Natalie Morales, Natalie Allen, Alex Witt, Sean McLaughlin, Rosiland Jordan and Al Roker on the parade route.  In the evening Ron Reagan and David Shuster will report live from the inaugural balls.

MSNBC’s Thursday coverage continues with a special edition of “Hardball with Chris Matthews,” 7-8 p.m. ET, followed by “Countdown with Keith Olbermann,” 8-9 p.m. ET.  Matthews and Scarborough return with special editions of “Hardball,” 9-10 p.m. ET and “Scarborough,” 10-11 p.m. ET.

“A presidential inauguration is a time to appreciate the constancy of our political process,” said Chris Matthews.  “Like clockwork, since 1789, we’ve sworn in our Presidents and recommitted ourselves to our republic. No country in the world can match this record of legitimate government.”

Featured panelists for MSNBC’s inauguration coverage include Newsweek managing editor Jon Meacham, former Congressman J.C. Watts, presidential historian Doris Kearns Goodwin, MSNBC political analysts Pat Buchanan, Ron Reagan and Monica Crowley, NBC News correspondents Andrea Mitchell and David Gregory and “Scarborough Country” host Joe Scarborough.