IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

Donna Strickland won the Nobel Prize in Physics; The third woman since 1901


Donna Strickland from Canada, won the Nobel Prize in Physics for creating the shortest, most intense laser pulses ever created. She won along with her research partner Gérard Mourou. She is the third woman ever to win the Nobel Prize in Physics. The 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics was also awarded to the American Arthur Askin.