IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

32 Americans named Rhodes Scholars for 2014

Yale University Vinay Nayak is seen in an undated photo provided by Nayak.
Yale University Vinay Nayak is seen in an undated photo provided by Nayak.

WASHINGTON — The Rhodes Trust says 32 U.S. men and women have been named Rhodes Scholars and will enter Oxford University next October.

The winners were selected from 857 applicants endorsed by 327 different colleges and universities. The scholarships, announced early Sunday, provide all expenses for two or three years of study at the prestigious university in England.

Rhodes Scholarships were created in 1902 by the will of British philanthropist Cecil Rhodes. Winners are selected on the basis of high academic achievement, personal integrity, leadership potential and physical vigor, among other attributes.

The value of the scholarships averages about $50,000 per year.

The American students will join an international group of scholars selected from 14 other jurisdictions around the world. Approximately 80 scholars are selected annually.

The 32 American students chosen as Rhodes Scholars for 2014, listed by geographical region:

District 1:

Jessica Wamala, Milford, N.H., Villanova University

Alexander Joel Diaz, North Bergen, N.J., Harvard University

District 2:

Elizabeth Hockfield Byrne, Cambridge, Mass., Harvard University

Katherine Elida Warren, Bainbridge Island, Wash., Harvard University

District 3:

Isabel Emma Eggleston Beshar, Rye, N.Y., Yale University

Paolo Poggioni Singer, Bronx, N.Y., Harvard University

District 4:

Evan Barrett Behrle, Oxford, Penn., University of Virginia

Alexander Gerard Wang, Doylestown, Penn., New York University, Abu Dhabi

District 5:

Timothy Michael McGinnis, Charlotte, N.C., Princeton University

Charles Samuel Tyson, Chapel Hill, N.C. University of Virginia

District 6:

Brian Westfall McGrail, Arlington, Va., Williams College

Emma Pierson, Arlington, Va., Stanford University

District 7:

James O'Connell, Tampa, Fla., Wake Forest University

Lindsay Evans Lee, Oak Ridge, Tenn., University of Tennessee, Knoxville

District 8:

Melissa Loreice McCoy, Dallas, Texas, Georgia Institute of Technology

John Mikhael, Dallas, Texas, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

District 9:

Adam Mastroianni, Monroeville, Ohio, Princeton University

Courtney Wittekind, Mason, Ohio, Carnegie Mellon University

District 10:

Vinay Nayak, Oak Brook, Ill., Yale University

Calla Glavin, Birmingham, Mich., United States Military Academy

District 11:

Drew Alan Birrenkott, McFarland, Wisc., University of Wisconsin

Samuel Martin Greene, Spring Green, Wisc., University of Chicago

District 12:

Donald Mayfield Brown, Vicksburg, Miss., Mississippi State University

Joshua Allen Aiken, Eugene, Ore., Washington University, St. Louis

District 13:

Meredith Lukens Wheeler, Fort Collins, Colo., Stanford University

Erin Alexandra Tanith Mauldin, Albuquerque, N.M., United States Military Academy

District 14:

Suzanna Marie Fritzberg, Lake Forest Park, Wash., Yale University

Andrew Scott Lea, Richland, Wash., Harvard University

District 15:

Miles William Unterreiner, Santa Barbara, Calif., Stanford University

Clarke Knight, Henderson, Nev., Smith College

District 16:

Aurora Catherine Griffin, Westlake Village, Calif., Harvard University

Zarko Perovic, San Diego, Calif., University of California, Berkeley

— The Associated Press