IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

Covid travel tracker: Which countries are allowing visitors from the U.S.?

NBC News is tracking world travel restrictions for U.S. citizens.

U.S. vaccinations continue rising and Americans are flying in greater numbers than they have all year. But not every country is welcoming U.S. citizens.

NBC News is tracking travel restrictions in countries around the world. Here is what travelers need to know, as of Sept. 27. Note that the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention state that you should not travel internationally until you are fully vaccinated.

  • More than 40 countries, including Italy, El Salvador, Gambia and Ukraine, are fully open to U.S. travelers and tourists.
  • Four countries are completely closed to Americans, including Uruguay and New Zealand.
  • The remaining countries fall somewhere in between, including countries with open borders but under a “Do Not Travel” advisory from the U.S. State Department, and countries open only to vaccinated travelers. There are also countries that offer exceptions for dual-citizens, residents or those with qualifying travel reasons.
  • More than 170 countries require a negative Covid-19 test from travelers.
  • More than 90 countries have some sort of quarantine requirement.
  • More than 60 countries have some sort of curfew in effect.

See the map below for each country’s travel details. This map will be updated in the weeks ahead as circumstances change.

CORRECTION (March 31, 2021, 3:45 p.m. ET): A previous version of the map on this article omitted South Sudan, which became a country in 2011. The map has been republished to include it.