It’s Official: Mitch McConnell (Unanimously) is Senate Majority Leader-Elect

Sen. Mitch McConnell of Kentucky has been elected unanimously as Majority Leader-elect by the Senate Republican Conference during their closed-door leadership elections.

McConnell was nominated by Sen. Kelly Ayotte of New Hampshire, and his nomination was seconded by Sen-elect Tom Cotton of Arkansas.

He was elected by acclamation, meaning there was not a roll call vote or tally.

McConnell will not become Majority Leader until the new Congress is sworn-in in January.