Breaking News Emails

Get breaking news alerts and special reports. The news and stories that matter, delivered weekday mornings.

Meb Keflezighi of the United States reacts after coming in first place in the 118th running of the Boston Marathon on Monday. Keflezighi becomes the first American winner of the Boston Marathon since 1983.

Meb Keflezighi became the first U.S. man to win the Boston Marathon since 1983 in a shocking upset victory Monday.MATT CAMPBELL / EPA

Official Men's Results:

1. Meb Keflezighi (San Diego, Calif.) 2:08:37

2. Wilson Chebet (KEN) 2:08:48

3. Frankline Chepwony (KEN) 2:08:50

4. Vitaliy Shafar (UKR) 2:09:37

5. Markos Geneti (ETH) 2:09:50

6. Joel Kimurer (KEN) 2:11:03

7. Nick Arciniaga (Flagstaff, Ariz.) 2:11:47

8. Jeffrey Eggleston (Boulder, Colo.) 2:11:57

9. Paul Lonyangata (KEN) 2:12:34

10. Adil Annani (MAR) 2:12:43