Ukraine Crisis

Russia Bans Nine Americans After Obama Expands Sanctions

Minutes after President Barack Obama announced a new round of sanctions against officials and allies of the Russian government, Russia countered with its own set of entry bans against nine American officials.

The list of those sanctioned includes House Speaker John Boehner, Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid, Senate Foreign Relations Committee chief Bob Menendez and top Republican Sen. John McCain of Arizona.

Also named are White House advisers Ben Rhodes, Caroline Atkinson and Dan Pfeiffer as well as senators Mary Landrieu, D-La., and Dan Coats, R-Ind.

“We have repeatedly warned that the use of sanctions instruments - double-edged things - boomerang on the United States itself,” the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs said in a statement.

Those targeted in the United States appeared to be anything but dismayed by their inclusion on the Russian sanctions list.

"The Speaker is proud to be included on a list of those willing to stand against Putin's aggression,” Boehner spokesman Michael Steel said in a statement.

McCain tweeted a similar sentiment.

And Landrieu chimed in as well on Twitter