IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

Facebook's latest feature: Automatic photo syncing

FB photo sync
Facebook's photo sync feature.Facebook

Facebook has rolled out a feature that lets users automatically upload every photo they take, and pick the best ones to post later. Photo sync should be appreciated by absent-minded photographers and sharing addicts.

An update to the Facebook app on Android and iPhone will bring the new functionality, which is a lot like what users of Google+ have been enjoying since mid-2011. After downloading it, and likely agreeing to an updated "Terms and Services Agreement," you'll be able to have every photo you take uploaded automatically to a private Facebook album.

At the end of the night, or week, or just whenever you feel like it, you can browse through it and select photos to add to new, public albums. You'll still be able to access the ones you didn't make public.

The update isn't live for either iOS or Android at the time of this writing, but should be available soon.

Devin Coldewey is a contributing writer for NBC News Digital. His personal website is coldewey.cc.