Breaking News Emails

Get breaking news alerts and special reports. The news and stories that matter, delivered weekday mornings.

The Republican National Committee announced on Wednesday that it has narrowed the list of finalists to host its 2016 convention to six cities -- Cincinnati, Cleveland, Dallas, Denver, Kansas City, and Las Vegas.

The cities that got dropped from its earlier list: Columbus, Ohio and Phoenix.

The RNC is expected to pare down this list later this spring for the cities that will receive official visits from the full RNC delegation.