IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.
Rep. Paul Gosar, R-Ariz., speaks at the Capitol on Dec. 7, 2021.
Rep. Paul Gosar, R-Ariz., speaks at the Capitol on Dec. 7, 2021.Anna Moneymaker / Getty Images file

More than two dozen lawmakers unopposed in November

Eighteen Republicans and four Democrats are not facing an opponent from the other major party.


As the battle for the U.S. House rages on across the country, more than two dozen members can breathe a little easier, since they are not facing an opponent from either major party. 

Twenty three House Republicans and six House Democrats are running unopposed in November. Several are facing third party or write-in candidates, but a major party failed to field a candidate. Twelve are not facing any type of opponent. 

All of these lawmakers are in districts where they would have been favored to win anyway, given the partisan makeup of their House seats. But the lack of a major party opponent makes their path to victory that much easier. 

Texas hosts the most lawmakers who are running either completely unopposed or only facing a third party or write-in candidate, with six House Republicans not facing a Democratic opponent. 

Here are the lawmakers not facing a challenger from the opposing party — listed alphabetically by state: 

  • Jerry Carl, R-Ala.
  • Gary Palmer, R-Ala.
  • Debbie Lesko, R-Ariz.
  • Paul Gosar, R-Ariz.
  • Mark DeSaulnier, D-Calif.
  • John Rutherford, R-Fla.
  • Mike Waltz, R-Fla.
  • Scott Franklin, R-Fla.
  • Danny Davis, D-Ill.
  • Mike Johnson, R-La.
  • Jake Auchincloss, D-Mass.
  • Kelly Armstrong, R-N.D.
  • Yvette Clarke, D-N.Y.
  • Adriano Espaillat, D-N.Y.
  • Dwight Evans, D-Pa.
  • John Joyce, R-Pa.
  • Guy Reschenthaler, R-Pa.
  • Glenn Thompson, R-Pa.
  • Jeff Duncan, R-S.C.
  • Will Timmons, R-S.C.
  • Dusty Johnson, R-S.D.
  • Jake Ellzey, R-Texas
  • August Pfluger, R-Texas
  • Jodey Arrington, R-Texas
  • Roger Williams, R-Texas
  • Michael Burgess,  R-Texas
  • John Carter,  R-Texas
  • Glenn Grothman, R-Wisc. 
  • Mike Gallagher, R-Wisc.

CORRECTION (Nov. 2, 2022, 12:15 p.m. ET): A previous version of this article misstated the number of lawmakers not facing an opponent from a major party. The correct number is 29, not 22.